Pumpkin muffins with swirls

31st October 2016

Hi guys, I know that I created the blog to share mainly some science news but as I said I love baking and would love my first real post to be about this favorite hobby of mine.

It is a Halloween season and pumpkins are everywhere. I love pumpkin deserts, and knowing that the pumpkin inside has almost 0 calories makes pumpkin dessert even more desirable. The taste and the nice orange color makes it even more appealing.

Lately my husband don’t want me to do any cakes as he is trying to be good and this is almost a straggle for me as my hands ache some times to do some baking. This is what happened last weekend. We went to the shop and when I saw the pumpkin couldn’t resist. Went home and made few different things with it. First I cleaned it collecting of course the seeds and put them in the oven with a bit of salt. Few pieces of pumpkin I roasted with a bit of water, it didn’t like the taste (may be is still early for roasted pumpkins), so I looked up for some recipes found an amazing one from the novice chef (http://www.thenovicechefblog.com/2015/11/pumpkin-cream-cheese-swirl-muffins/). I made a bit of twist with adding some walnuts (they are always welcome with the pumpkin) and the result was fantastic. So here it comes:

 

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups flour

1/2 cup of walnuts

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

Small pinch of grounded clove

1 tsp baking soda

1 cup of pumpkin pure (I did it by simply mashing the flesh of the roasted bits with fork)

2/3 cup sugar

1/2 brown sugar

2 eggs

1/2 cup sunflower oil (you can use vegetable as well)

1 tsp vanilla

For the swirls:

2 packs cream cheese (180 g each)

1/4 cup sugar

1 egg yolk

1 tsp vanilla

 

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180·C;
  2. Line the wells in a muffin pan with baking paper;
  3. In a bowl mix together with a whisk flour, spaces, walnuts and baking soda;
  4. In another bowl put the pumpkin pure, sugars and the eggs and whisk together (don’t over do it);
  5. Add the oil and vanilla and whisk until combine;
  6. Add the dry ingredients and either mix with a spoon until there are no Lumps and everything is well combined or I prefer to use the whisk for exactly 15 seconds no more because they won’t rise and all we need is just to combine them nicely;
  7. Full the muffin tins 3/4;
  8. In bowl whisk together the cream cheese, egg yolk, sugar and vanilla;
  9. Put a spoon full of cream cheese mixture on the top of each muffin;
  10. With a tooth pick lightly try to move a bit from the mixture below over the cream cheese without over mixing;

img_2540

  1. Bake for 20 min.

ENJOY!

 

